Yoga Challenge Day 13

I’ve been researching CrossFit lately, looking for elements I could incorporate into my fitness plan. Although I don’t intend to work out with weights any time soon (at least not until I’m injury free and 30kg lighter), I came upon a site with bodyweight Workouts of the Day (WOD) called Gymnastics WOD. It seems like a good resource to spice things up further down the road, but at the moment I simply don’t have the conditioning these workouts demand.

Case in point: I performed a bodyweight workout today that almost did me in. So far, I’ve been doing progressively more difficult exercises to keep the workouts challenging. I know that I’ve been getting stronger, but sometimes I feel that no matter how much strength I build, it’ll never match the size of my body – I’m not sure I really want it to either.

What I need, ultimately, is to lose weight, and I know that the kilos will drop only if I cut the dairy from my nutrition (I eat mostly Primal at the moment). Considering how writing a blog has helped me keep up my Yoga practice, I think adding a Paleo nutrition component to this challenge and blogging about it will help me stick to it.

Anyway, back to the workout. After finishing with the strength exercises, I adapted a sequence Sage Rountree presented for Runner’s World on YouTube (click here to watch) as follows:

  • Triangle
  • Pyramid
  • Lunge
  • Half-Saddle
  • Pigeon
  • Head-to-Knee
  • Happy Baby

Actually, the only difference compared to the original sequence is the addition of Half-Saddle since I like it better for stretching the quadriceps than pulling on the back leg while in a Lunge. Besides, it adds a nice(?) stretch for the upper side of the foot that I need. I stayed in each pose for one minute; did first one side then the other. Although this is suggested as a post-run routine, it stretches just about everything – thighs, calves, lower and upper back, chest (though only slightly) – so it’s really just the thing after a full-body strength workout. The only part that wasn’t stretched was the front side of the deltoids and the triceps, but Gomukhasana arms took care of that.

In the afternoon, I continued my research into CrossFit, and was delighted to come upon Kelly Starrett’s site, MobilityWOD. I find the idea of doing mobility work on different body parts each day, rather appealing – in essence, it’s not that different from my own Yin Yoga practice. Naturally, I wanted to give it a try (in case you haven’t noticed, I like variety!). The WODs seem to be sequenced in a logical, rather than random, fashion, so I started out with day 1: staying in a low squatting position for a total of 10 minutes. I was tickled funny since this is also a Yin Yoga pose (see here). I broke down the time into 4 segments, although I think I could have managed 3, and maybe even 2, but I didn’t want to risk it since I’d never stayed so long (10 minutes!) in any pose other than Straddle (does Shavasana count?). I felt the stretch in the Achilles tendon, but the weird thing was that I also felt it on the inside of my ankles – I guess that was because the feet were parallel while the knees were pushed outwards. I’ll try to do an mWOD each day and see if it makes any difference.

Leave a Reply

