Yoga Challenge Days 17-18

Had Internet trouble yesterday and couldn’t post, so here’s my update on the last two days.
I did a strength training session yesterday morning. This is my fifth workout and somehow it seemed easier, even though I’m steadily progressing to more difficult exercises. No DOMS, except for just a little bit around the wrists – did my very first one-arm let me ins 🙂
In the afternoon, I did Yin Yoga following Erin Fleming’s Yin Yoga: The Essential Practice CD. Overall, it was a balanced sequence putting emphasis on spinal work without overlooking the hips. Counter-poses were subtle to non-existent but that didn’t detract from the practice. Another peculiarity, which I’ve noticed only in a handful of classes before, was the placement of Shavasana after meditation at the end. I can’t say I liked that as I was feeling detached and groggy afterwards, when going through Shavasana first, then sitting in meditation usually leaves me relaxed but centered.
As for today, my monthly started early and put me out of commission for just about everything. I decided to revisit the mWODs I’ve done so far and add a new one to my repertoire.
So, in the morning I worked on squatting, and hip extension, while in the afternoon I worked on the calves and psoas (mWOD day 4). Not as relaxing as a Yoga practice might have been, but I’m not really clear on what poses are appropriate for that time of the month and which ones I should avoid.

4 thoughts on “Yoga Challenge Days 17-18

  1. Arthi

    Hello. Just happened by your blog. Would love to know what constitutes a paleo diet. I know I can find sources online to educate me. But I am keen to find out from someone on it to tell me.

    Reply
    1. Dawn D. Post author

      Hi Arthi and tx for showing interest in the Paleo lifestyle 🙂 Basically, when eating Paleo, we opt for animal protein (meat, poultry, fish, eggs), starchy and non-starchy vegetables (such as sweet potatoes and leafy greens respectively), minimally processed or raw fats (e.g. avocados, olives, olive oil, ghee/clarified butter, coconut oil), and small quantities of nuts and fruit. Conversely, we avoid processed foods in general, and more specifically grains, legumes (beans), and dairy. I know it may seem rather restrictive, but there are several variations and offshoots one can experiment with. You can read about them this post, which also contains a nice list of resources for further study.
      People who are gluten or lactose intolerant or suffer from an autoimmune disease, and athletes seeking optimal performance seem to benefit the most from eating Paleo. I am none of those things, but chose this way of eating because it’s the only “diet” I’ve found in 15 years that has helped me 1) manage PMS-related mood swings and 2) lose weight effortlessly, even enjoyably. I’ve tried calorie restriction, low-carb, low-fat, acid-base balance, grazing, meal replacement, etc. but all these diets left me feeling grumpy and hungry, not to mention I always gained back what I’d lost, with a few extra kilos to boot. It took me a while to convince myself to try out Paleo and I was astonished by how easily I lost weight and how it wouldn’t come back on, especially considering that instead of feeling deprived, I was finally feeling satisfied, sometimes even stuffed, after meals.
      Though I’ll admit that Paleo isn’t for everyone, I would urge you to give it a try and see if it suits you. If you’re interested in giving it a try, I’d suggest getting the Hartwigs’ book It Starts with Food as they do a great job explaining the basics of eating Paleo and particularly the reasoning behind it. Also, be sure to check out this post for a few tips on making the transition.

      Reply
  2. Arthi

    That was very informative and detailed. Thank you! Will check the links and read more too. I forgot to mention I am a vegetarian. I will read up and learn more . thanks again. I am happy it works well for you!

    Reply
    1. Dawn D. Post author

      Although it is significantly more challenging, it is possible to eat Paleo while being vegetarian, provided you consume enough protein, e.g. in the form of eggs. Check out this site for a vegetarian endurance athlete’s experience with meat-less Paleo. If you’re not lactose-intolerant, you could even give it a Primal twist by also eating full-fat and/or fermented dairy.
      Unless you’re an athlete in a strength-oriented sport or have a physically demanding job, consuming 0.5 grams of protein per pound of bodyweight on a daily basis should be enough. Eat as much fat as you need to satisfy your hunger and enough carbs (mostly starchy veggies) to fuel your activities, and you’re good to go 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

